Meet our team

Programme leads

Prof Stewart Williams

Head of welding engineering and laser processing
Programme director

Dr Filomeno Martina

Senior Lecturer in Additive Manufacturing
Programme manager, titanium development

Dr Jialuo Ding

Senior Research Fellow in Additive Manufacture
Lead researcher

Academic input

Dr Helen Lockett

Senior Lecturer
Design and design tools

Dr Paul Colegrove

Senior Lecturer
Cold work, hardware and software development

Dr Supriyo Ganguly

Senior Lecturer
Metallurgy and fatigue & damage tolerance

Prof Ralph Tatam

Head of Engineering Photonics
Instrumentation, sensors and measurement Science, sensor technologies

Dr Wojciech Suder

Lecturer in Laser Processing
Laser processing

Dr Tom Charrett

Instrumentation, sensors and measurement science, sensor technologies


Dr Goncalo Pardal

Research Fellow
Cooling, local shielding, hybrid laser WAAM

Armando Caballero

Research Assistant
Materials development and metallurgical characterisation

Zsolt Pinter

Research Assistant
Part building

Pawel Kurzynski

Research Assistant
Automation and robotics

Dr Thomas Kissinger

Research Fellow
Optical Measurements, Interferometry, Photonics


Kwasi Ayarkwa

PhD Research Student
Novel aluminium structures

Gianrocco Marinelli

PhD Research Student
Refractory metals

Jan Roman Hönnige

PhD Research Student
Residual Stress, mechanical property improvement and alternative cold work integration

Xiangfang Xu

PhD Research Student
Mixed materials structures and special steels

Florent Michel

PhD Research Student
WAAMSoft, Software, Path

Eloise Eimer

PhD Research Student
Integrated aluminium structures


Flemming Nielsen

Principal Technician
Technical support

Nisar Shah

Technical support

Jonathan Pratt

Technical support